the good, the bad, and the ugly

the good:  becoming parents to children we have been praying and longing for, for a long time, fulfilling a dream, expanding our family to have more than furry babies

the bad:  for children to be in the foster care system something bad has to have happened to them. This is sad and something we will have to work through with the children we adopt.

the ugly:  waiting, praying for a child to adopt through the foster care system is tough.  I feel guilty sometimes. As a nurse, what I compare it to is someone who is waiting on an organ transplant list for someone to die for them to get the organ they need to live.  While I don’t need to be a parent to live, it still feels like I am waiting for someone to screw up or fail so I can be a mother.

Deep down I know people make mistakes and this is out of my control.  I can be challenging though to think we will be benefiting from it.  This is one way I feel foster care adoption is different from private adoption. With private adoption the parents are choosing to give up their children.

I am not feeling discouraged, just thoughtful about all of the parties involved.  I’m feeling the need to pray for our future children and their families.

Posted on May 31, 2011, in adoption, foster care and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Good luck to you and your future children.Eliza Keating

  2. I feel the same way. We haven’t had another call for a placment since the first one and the waiting is hard for several reasons, but I think you hit the nail on head with the most difficult part of waiting. I still feel conflicted that I’m PRAYING for a phone call. What will be an exciting day for me, will be a VERY hard day for a little one out there somewhere.

Leave a Reply

